UK, Durham and Berwick on Tweed – I’m in the country (part one)

On my visits to London I don’t often venture beyond the M25 so it was time to change that – obviously!

First stop was Durham to visit my friend Christine who is boldly doing an English lit degree there and seems to be loving it. First stop was a quick walk around the cathedral as the sun started to set. This is a highlight of a trip to Durham as it is pretty darn large. The pic bottom left is actually a Lego representation of the Cathedral and miniature poppies.

On the next day Christine took me on a mystery trip which turned out to be lunch at Raby Hunt near Darlington – a 2 Michelin star restaurant. I posted pics of every course on FB and Insta so below is just a sample:)

The Autumnal colors in the road by the restaurant were lovely. And I also loved the transparent representations of lost soldiers from the locations they originally came from which are dotted all over the UK at the moment – with a card giving the name of the person and when they died.

On the Sunday we headed to the local Farm shop and en-route we saw animals! Including cute piglets and the scary boar – Big Dave

Onwards and upwards after that to Berwick on Tweed where my cousin Cheryl lives. Her sister Gilly also came up from London and Cheryls husband Bob and daughter Rebecca were also there. Our family gets together about once every 20 years so this was an achievement – especially nearly in Scotland.

Scenes from Berwick on Tweed. This is where Lowry painted a lot of his most famous pictures.

Leave a comment