Australia, Victoria, Melbourne – NGV – Ian Potter Centre

Continuing my efforts to be a tourist in my home city I found myself wondering through the Ian Potter Centre on Flinders Street. I hadn’t been for a long time so I walked through the whole thing and as ever there were two paintings in particular that kept drawing me back. Although before I get to those, I would be remiss in not mentioning the “Who’s afraid of Colour” exhibit which was not at all what I expected (in a good way). 

Anyway, I kept coming back to two John Brack paintings – the first is called 5pm on Collins Street and is dated 1955 and the second is called The Bar and dated 1954 O(when apparently bars had to close by 6pm so it is no wonder everyone is heading out with a mission in the first paining)! I live close to Collins Street so know exactly where the first painting is set and wonder if much has changed? Maybe those crowds are more likely at 6pm and no more hats on the men but thankfully more women in the crowd. Do people still look that miserable?

As for the lady at the bar – clearly you wouldn’t want to mess with her but she also retains a particular charm which made me smile – and check out those fab earrings.

Enjoy

2 thoughts on “Australia, Victoria, Melbourne – NGV – Ian Potter Centre

Leave a Reply

