Tokyo, Japan – Kusama and cherry blossoms and a travel tip of the day

Now in Tokyo and as this is my 3rd leisure visit here I’m going to be focusing on two priorities while I’m here for four days – art and cherry blossoms – and food of course but you’d be expecting that. I’m staying at the Grand Hyatt Roppongi Hills – which is a new location for me and easily accessible by subway to the things I want to see. It is also on top of a very large shopping centre so I’m happy;)
For those who’ve been following this blog for a while you may recall my excitement when visiting MONA in Hobart to find a Yayoi Kusama exhibit. She is a wonderful Japanese artist who is especially famous for her love of polka dots and she is still going strong at 87. So I was especially thrilled to see that there was a large exhibit of her new works entitled My Eternal Soul at the National Art Centre in Tokyo very close to my hotel. Hope you enjoy this selection of her work as much as I loved my visit. It’s the first time I’ve seen so much of her work in one place and I was very excited about that.

Polka dots everywhere. Yayoi Kusama wows in her mega room of new works

Polka dots in all Kusama playful sculptures- you can’t help but smile

A few samples of the dozens of paintings exhibited. I want one!


and here is my haul of Kusama goodies to take home. Hand Towel (check), Tea Towel (check), iPhone cover (check), plastic zip folder (check), key ring (check)

My very own collection of Kusama memorabilia

TIP OF THE DAY – by far the easiest way to travel around Tokyo is by subway – it is fast, efficient and clean – and of course everything is on time. Wherever you get on just find the large subway map above the ticket machines, find the stop you are heading to and the price of the fare will be labeled on the map. Then , select your fare, throw in your money and out pops the correct ticket. An app I am very fond of for large cities is Citymapper as you just have to input the name of a place you want to visit or an address if you know it and it will immediately provide you with a variety of public transport options and how long it will take you to get to your venue. (Walking and driving options too but public transport is the one I think is most useful). I use it a lot in London and NYC too where they cover tube, rail and buses and it is now available for Tokyo too.

3 thoughts on “Tokyo, Japan – Kusama and cherry blossoms and a travel tip of the day

  1. paulettemcrooke

    Susi, she has a new installation at the Hirschorn in DC. I can’t wait to see it. And I don’t know how she did it remotely. How wonderful you saw all that! Love your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. whatsusiebdidnext Post author

      I know I saw that was the only other place she is exhibiting – although a different set I think. More good cherry blossoms to come so hold off on that paint brush until I publish my “best of” selection in a couple of days:)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

