Kyoto, Japan – where the selfie is so prevalent that even monks do it and then there’s the “let’s play dress up” geishas…

I have realized why the word “selfish” and “selfies” are so similar – there are so many people walking around here – and it’s very crowded – with appendages permanently attached to them. I am feeling very grumpy about it – they are fine I suppose (and as I travel on my own quite often I have taken my fair share – but without the intrusive stick in other people’s eyes) – but I can’t see them going away. Another thing young girls like to do around here is get made up as a geisha and then spend the day hobbling around the city and -you guessed it – taking lots of pics with their selfies – evidence below. Even the monks and 3 year olds get in on the act!

Selfies and “fake” geishas

6 thoughts on “Kyoto, Japan – where the selfie is so prevalent that even monks do it and then there’s the “let’s play dress up” geishas…

  1. japaninsidersite

    The ladies in kimono are not fake geisha. Anyone can rent kimono for a day and wear it to go sight seeing. There is a huge difference between kimonos ordinary people wear and what geisha would wear… The blogger (Susie?) can find a rental store and enjoy dress up in kimono. That will not make you trying to be a fake geisha….

    Like

    Reply
    1. whatsusiebdidnext Post author

      Thanks – and I did realise they were were just dressing up not trying to be “fake geisha” – I just found it interesting that so many adults like to do it. Unusual where I come from.

      Like

      Reply
      1. japaninsidersite

        More interesting thing is that I found a lot of the people dressed in Kimono at Japanese attractions are NOT JAPANESE. They are Asians from other countries, mostly Chinese or Koreans. I hear them talk, and they are not talking in Japanese language. Only in Japan…

        Like

Leave a Reply

