Tasmania – Final Stop Hobart and MONA – chickens, challengidefinitions of art and finally proof that LV is more than just a handbag….just ask Yanoi Kusama.

Two days in Hobart where we indulged in seafood and lost 4 hours in MONA. This is my 3rd visit and it was once again right out there. The current 6 month temporary exhibit of the Origins of Art involves four seemingly small entrances into a black void which then all fan out into huge areas with different perspectives on where and why art exists. Loved it – it’s on until April so if you get a chance it’s worth it. I would do it again – as so much to learn with the really cool interactive iphone everyone gets.

Some samples below. I am still not sure if the lady on the chairs was for real or art – hard to say but I loved the overall effect either way. The dog photographer is in downtown Hobart – for all my dog loving friends – and yes they have chickens (or maybe that is a rooster?) – real not artistic ones – at MONA too.

MONA and Hobart Art and Chickens


I was excited that one of the magic doors took my through to a Kusama exhibit of dots – I am a big fan of hers and yes she did a collaboration with LV a few years ago as you can see. I will be aiming to see more of her work in Japan later this year – watch this space.

Final stop was the enchanting Retro Fudge Store in Hobart – below are the interiors. I would have shown you the fudge too but I ate it!

The Retro Fudge Shop in Hobart

4 thoughts on “Tasmania – Final Stop Hobart and MONA – chickens, challengidefinitions of art and finally proof that LV is more than just a handbag….just ask Yanoi Kusama.

  1. Sylvie watts

    Looks amazing Susie. Love the record player in the fudge shop. Dont know about retro: looks distinctly part of my youth.
    Does that make me retro??
    Love Sylvie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

