Tasmania – Cradle Mountain.  I finally wore my hiking boots and visited Wombat Poos.

My second visit to Cradle Mountain Lodge – and they remembered! Not because I was partying all night last time I visited but more likely due to their well organised database. Anyway, it landed me a bottle of sparkling cuvée, some chocolates and cheese and biscuits. Goodness knows what they will do if I go back again – which I might do as they do the lodge thing really well.

Rain and shine as usual – walked in both. Loved the beautiful King Billy pines and magical forest they create and also we stomped through pouring rain in Cradle Mountain national Park including my “good idea” to climb up to Wombat Poos (or Pools – we were never quite certain as there was a lot of both). It was a long long long way up and all steps – next time I will just buy a postcard – less huff and puff required – but of course in retrospect the walk didn’t seem so hard.

Walking through the King Billy Pines


Cradle Mountain Park where the rivers are made of gold and it rains a lot – but still lovely. Marjory practices her wilderness embrace.

One thought on “Tasmania – Cradle Mountain.  I finally wore my hiking boots and visited Wombat Poos.

Leave a Reply

